Studio Update / Back to Rustic Elegance

So, at the beginning of my MA journey I focused on the trends called ‘Rustic Elegance’ and ‘Rough Luxe’ and since then I forgot about those two until few days ago when I was ready to set up a new warp. I’ve been missing those productive days when all I was doing was yarns and pattern research!

I haven’t been experimenting much these past months and I really wanted to try something new so I decided to use a twisted, un-dyed cotton for the warp and raw silk and hemp as weft. I wanted to play with textures and so I tried to create a tridimensional effect using a wooden stick to create small loops. I’ve done this experiment before with different materials and the result was quite satisfactory. From the pictures you can probably see how the pattern is working: it is a simple but asymmetrical check design. Unfortunately, the warp thread was a bit too stretchy so the fabric was bouncing and crimped once off the loom. I’ll probably try to use this woven piece to make a small pouch but I’m not sure about the final result…we’ll see how it turns out!

What do you think? Any suggestion?

Leave a Reply

