Premiere Vision Trend Report- Paris 7-9Feb. 2017

For the first time ever, this February I had the chance to attend one of the biggest textile fair of the world: Première Vision.
This event is held twice a year, in September and February, in Paris and it last 3 days. During those 3 days, thousands of designers, buyers, creatives, manufacturers and fabric-lovers find themselves surrounded by the latest trends in terms of colors, yarns, patterns, textures, surfaces etc.
The event is held just outside Paris, in a huge exhibition center: Parc d’Exposition (Paris Nord Villepinte). The space is divided in 4 different halls; each hall focuses on a different type of product: leather, accessories, designs, fabrics, yarns and manufacturing.
There are also other subsections inside the halls, those are knitwear-solutions, upper jeanswear and maison d’exception(which is a highly innovative/experimental section exclusively reserved for luxury brands and fashion designers and it is by invitation only).
The first section that we find, at the entrance of the fair is dedicated to the designs. A large number of stands present selection of innovative designs printed on paper or on fabric swatches. Obviously, the majority of the prints presented floral patterns as it is a timeless trend. Stripes and geometrical patterns appeared too but in much restricted numbers. Apparently, geometric is not going to be one of the main trend for S|S 2018. I was surprised to find a huge number of prints depicting cartoon-animals. A conspicuous number of stands offered cute illustration in pastel colors for kids and toddlers. Pink appeared everywhere in adorable illustration of rabbits, pandas and tiny birds.
As I am not into prints, I went through this section just looking around and taking notes of the main color trends.
The second, main, section was the one dedicated to fabrics in general. I spent there few hours here, looking at each stand and taking notes about the weaving patterns/drafts.
I was surprised to notice that the stands presented different kind of designs, in terms of color ways, surfaces and texture effects. I can’t say that I clearly saw a connection between the collections of the different companies as it seems like everyone followed their own different trends. On the other end, one thing I noticed was the evident use of some yarns (paper yarns, fancy yarns-pigtail yarns, and absolutely no boucle yarns). I never use fancy yarns in my collections but I thought I’d give it a try because I found some of the results really inspiring.

A large number of stands where dedicated to high end embroidery, laces and knitted fabrics which although were pleasant to see are not particularly relevant from my point of view.

Interesting were also the leather and accessories sections, especially the stands that were selling trims and fur.

Of course it is impossible to sum up everything in one blog post and unfortunately I couldn’t take pictures because of the copyright; but it was an amazing experience and I think that it will conspicuously affect my future weaving and woven designs.

 

Leave a Reply

