The creation of a woven scarf: from the inspiration to the final product.

In the last post I introduced my newest creation, a 4 colors-striped scarf.

A lot of people seem to have liked the color combination which was inspired by few sunset pics I found on Pinterest; here are the pics and the color palette which I used to combine the colors:

 

After I decided the color range for this scarf I started planning the color order and combination. I knew I wanted to create a striped scarf so I tested different possibilities using the demo version of weavemaker, a very useful software for weavers.

After trying few combinations, changing the order of the colors and the thickness of each strip, I decided the final sequence and I started to make the warp.

As I always do, I mentally plan the threading and the pattern and I test it with weavemaker. Anyway, I end up changing the pattern so often once I start weaving! I do like to experiment and I get bored easily so it’s very hard for me to keep repeating the same pattern throughout the entire length of the scarf. I particularly like “free weaving” technique, weaving without following a fixed draft and mixing up twills, ribs, plain weave etc.

Here are some pics of the whole process:

 

 

You can find the scarf on my Etsy shop

 

Leave a Reply

