Working with leather

Few weeks ago I picked up some leather scraps to use them in my current project.

I have never worked with leather before and I have absolutely no knowledge in the bag-making field. Anyway, I feel that making some fairly easy samples may help me to improve my understanding of pattern making and unable me to develop more detailed sketches.

To learn something more about the leather sewing process I borrowed an old book that I found the other day  while I was doing my research in the library. I found some interesting patterns in it an I’m now willing to start creating something and see how the leather works with my woven samples.

I haven’t tried to sew it yet but I have booked an induction for tomorrow morning; today I just cut some pieces to be sewn together and I also tried out some ideas that emerged from my recent sketches. Here are the pictures I took today:

Leave a Reply

