Color-and-weave

Few weeks ago I had the chance to join a lesson held for the 2nd and 3rd year students with Tim Parry-Williams about color-and-weave.

Even though I had experienced it before, it was extremely helpful in order to understand the technique in a deeper way. We made a few samples using paper stripes of two different colors, combining them in various ways to obtain distinctive patterns.

The second part of the lesson focused the attention on another weaving technique using a small rigid heddle. We made a small warp each, using two different colors alternatively. We then insert each thread in a space of the heddle following a specific scheme (alternating one black and one brown thread in my case). Here I will upload some pictures that show all the different steps to follow in order to weave with the rigid heddle.

Once I understand the process, I tried to use a similar technique with leather stripes instead of paper. The effect obtained was similar but of course, the material reacted in a different way. I produced two samples (using 4 different colors of leather ). In order to create different surfaces and textures I combined the front and the back of the leather stripes as can be seen in the pictures. I then tried to juxtapose my woven samples and the leather one to see how they worked together and I wrote down all relevant considerations in my physical journal (vol.2).

Here is a website  that explores color combinations and which has interesting color-and-weave drafts:

Color and weave effects, Chapter 5, depart3.zzti.edu.cn [Online], Available from: depart3.zzti.edu.cn. [Accessed 14 December 2015].

 

Leave a Reply

