Reading “Ideas in weaving”:

Interesting starting point for reflection arose from the reading of “Ideas in weaving” (Sutton, A., Sheehan, D. 1989). I found this book extremely interesting or at least some of the chapters on which I focused my attention. It presents the world of weavers to a non-weaver-public and helps people to understand the principles and the way of thinking of a weaver.

One of the chapters, called “pre-weaving”, explains two different approaches to weaving: the Classical one and the Romantic. The former relies on logic, order and it is more rational while the latter relies on emotions and intuitions (Sutton, A. and Sheehan, D. 1989). The author states that we normally act on a balance between the two, constantly fluctuating from one to the other. As the author says, in our practice we mitigate our feelings and subconscious ideas using the intellect.

Personally I find it extremely hard to maintain the balance and I frequently jump from one edge to the other.

The confrontation between sense and sensibility recurs a lot in my personal philosophy and it is reflected in my works.

What I find interesting is the author statement about the preconceptions around the weavers work:

“It could be argued that all woven works require a classical approach, and that all weavers must have a natural affinity for logic, order, tradition and restraint. The more romantic, creative types have long since abandoned the constraints of the loom for less structured methods of making […].”

(Sutton, A., Sheehan, D. 1989, chapter 2)

This statement is even more true nowadays if we look at contemporary weavers works.

The “time” problem is also taken into consideration as it is crucial in the weaving process as I also pointed out previously. In the book, weaving is compared to writing a poem/novel and both are regarded as complex phenomenon.

I annotated all the relevant information in my physical journal as I believe that they could be relevant for my future studies.

References list:

Sutton, A. and Sheehan, D. (1989) Ideas in weaving, London: Batsford.

Leave a Reply

