Weaving Practice part 2:

During this past week I finished the warp and made other 11 small samples to add to my research.

I tried again to focus the attention on fabrics’ surfaces creating tridimensional effect using bumping fibers and small loops.

I was particularly pleased with one of the samples, the one made with rough hemp (fig.1). I assembled small loops together using a wooden stick align them in order to make a square. The resulting surface is similar to a chessboard where “empty” spaces are followed by spaces covered with loops. This interaction between spaces can be perceived both, visually and haptically. In terms of human visual perception, it is easy to understand which space is left empty thanks to the usage of colors. In fact, while in the sections made up by loops the warp is completely covered, in the plain weaved ones it is still visible. The human eye is therefore forced to recognize the difference of colors and outline the check pattern.

When we look at the sample, the tridimensional factor emerges as well; we all are able to understand that there is a height difference between the parts. The roughness of the material is also visible but I think it is mitigated by the geometric outline.

This interaction between visual and haptic perception is exactly what I wanted to achieve with my practical experimentation, but now I need to develop it further in order to understand how this kind of fabric could be sold in the luxury market.

I therefore started to question myself in order to figure out the next step.

Why do I like this sample more than the others? Because even though I used a simple weaving structure, I was able to give tridimensionality to the piece and create an interaction between the senses (sight/touch). What is important is that I used a rough and raw material (the hemp) to create a fabric that doesn’t look fully rough. And I think I achieved this result with the pattern and the color combination (the emerging white warp helps to mitigate the perceived roughness- in my opinion-).

A fuzzy and messy material was reduced to a structured form and confined into defined edges. Now I need to ask myself how could I make this fabric look luxurious.

Leave a Reply

