Visual research

I spent the whole weekend sketching and trying to find some inspiration for my studio work. I usually use Instagram to look at what is happening in the world. Personally, I find it a good platform to share ideas worldwide in form of photos or videos.
I do not have a business account yet, but I’m planning to create one as soon as I make some samples.
Today I focused my attention on 3D hand-woven textile.
I wanted to know how to incorporate yarns of different thickness in the same fabric. I extended my research to the different effects that can be achieved with yarns.
Here are some pictures of what I found.

Wallhanging, Textile made by Weaver House Co, 2015. Instagram: @weaverhouseco

Weaverhouseco (2015) Wallhanging Textile (online picture) Available from Instagram: @weaverhouseco

Wall-hanging, Textile made by Weaver House Co, 2015. Instagram: @weaverhouseco

Wall-hanging (2015) Textile (online picture) Available from Instagram: @weaverhouseco

Textile made by Emma Swinburne, London based Woven Textile Designer. Instagram: @Eswinburne

Emma Swinburne (2015) London based Woven Textile Designer, Textile design (online picture) Available from Instagram: @Eswinburne

Textile made by Weaver House Co, 2015. Instagram: @weaverhouseco

Weaver House Co (2015) Textile (online picture) Available from Instagram: @weaverhouseco

I would like to try out some of this designs and see how to combine them with the landscapes/pictures I have been looking at for inspiration. The plurality of braids in the second sample reminds me of some of the sea-life pictures I collected in my visual folder.

As for the colors, I  will focus more on pale tones (a white scale, still undecided whether to add some brighter colors or not).

Leave a Reply

